Graduate recital document




Sczepanik, Alexis

Journal Title

Journal ISSN

Volume Title



This recital document contains all four works that are to be performed on my graduate recital. The four works are Mozart's Horn Concerto No 4 in E-flat Major K. 495, Mvt I, Paul Dukas' Villanelle, Hermann Neuling's Bagatelle, and Reinhold Gliere's Horn Concerto. Chapter One discusses the overall form of the first movement of Mozart's Horn Concerto, along with more specific characteristics that affect the form. Chapter Two gives a thorough history of the Paris Conservatory, the Morceaux de Concours, how Dukas' Villanelle fits into that history, and how the performance practice of the piece is affected today. Chapter Three gives the history of Rienhold Gliere, Valeriy Polekh, the horn player for whom the piece was written, and how the piece came to be. The final chapter, Chapter Four, compares two American horn players' interpretation of Neuling's Bagatelle through analysis of expressive performance.


This item is available only to currently enrolled UTSA students, faculty or staff. To download, navigate to Log In in the top right-hand corner of this screen, then select Log in with my UTSA ID.


Dukas, Gliere, K. 495, Morceaux de concours, Neuling, Polekh